Meet Joy

My dreams of graduating from college were put on hold for almost 30 years due to family issues that I CHOSE to give priority to.

Finally, it was my turn to reach my goal. At a ripe old age (no, I’m not going to TELL you how old I am!) I enrolled in college. In what seemed like no time, they were playing Pomp and Circumstance for me.

What seemed like the best day of my life turned out to be one of the worst.

I realized that I had nothing left on my “Bucket List.” If you didn’t see the movie (and you should), a bucket list is the list of things you want to do before you die.

My Bucket List:

  • Marry Mr. Right – done
  • Raise 2 children (preferably a boy and a girl) – done
  • Buy a house in the suburbs – done
  • Buy a convertible sports car – done
  • Start a successful business – done
  • Have a great teaching career – done
  • Graduate from college – done

Lost

Everything on my list was checked off. I now have everything I want. Sounds great – but now what?

I was totally lost.

I had to find a new goal.

? Grad school – None of the programs really floated my boat

? More kids – Are you nuts?

? Photography, Painting, Gardening – OK but no passion

Found

What did I want out of life?

I had been so blessed that I felt that I needed to help others. I believe that the purpose of a blessing is to give you the tools to help others.

But  what could I do?

The answer was under my nose all along. People had been coming to me for advice for years – how to start a business, how to deal with relationships, overcoming life’s obstacles. I had been teaching success all along. I just needed to expand to reach more people.

Eureka!

I reorganized my business, changed its focus from teaching technology to teaching success, and B.L.I.S.S. was born.

This is my new passion – the videos, the blogs, the research, the marketing, the social networking, meeting and helping great people.

Importance of Goals

Goals are essential for happiness and success. If you have no goals, several things can happen:

  1. You have nothing to focus on; therefore you drift through life. The excitement will be gone.
  2. You will make other’s goals your own, thus losing yourself in the process. You will be defined by what others want for you, not what you want for yourself.
  3. You will become stagnant. It is very easy to sink into depression because your focus is internal, not external.
  4. You will begin to question your value and self-worth.

The most important lesson that I learned from this experience is that as you reach a goal, you must then set new, higher goals for yourself. You must continue to turn up the temperature on your mental thermostat in order to truly have bliss.

Thank you friends, followers, subscribers, and clients.  Thank you for giving me excitement, energy and a new reason to get up each day. Thank you for being my goal.

What are your goals?

About living4bliss

Mental Health Food is the place to stop to get your bliss on everyday. I give tips, hints and sometimes a little silliness to help you navigate the challenges of life. We have a great community of positive bloggers that keep the bliss going all day every day. Make sure to visit their blogs, too. Mental Health Food is a product of Believing Life Is Setup for Success, Inc. (B.L.I.S.S.) in Thornton, CO. We have been in the business of teaching success since 1991. We provide workshops, consulting services and now videos that help people just like you start and maintain successful businesses and personal lives using what you already have. Enjoy a daily dose of Mental Health Food; nourishment for the mind.

5 responses »

  1. living4bliss says:

    What goals do you have?

  2. RoniLynn says:

    I truly believe that we all have stages that we go through and at each stage we have a different goal, a different level of fulfillment. What worked for me when I was 25, didn’t work for me at 32. And then, just 5 years later, none of that worked for me at 38. Now, at 42…I’m totally revamping everything. doesn’t mean nothing worked at all. It just means that I’m at a different stage where some things are more important. And some of those things I’ve never thought about before. Ten years ago I would have never thought about joining a board of directors. Now I’m on two non-profit boards and it’s been great. I haven’t created a bucket list, but maybe I should. One item would include buying a condo on the beach…any beach.

    • living4bliss says:

      That was exactly my point, Roni. We need to keep creating new goals for these different stages in our lives or else we have little reason to get up in the morning.

      Thanks for the comment and thanks for your service with non-profirs.

  3. […] When the Bucket List is All Checked (living4bliss.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] When the Bucket List is All Checked (living4bliss.wordpress.com) […]

I'd love to know what you think. Please share a comment with us.

