Joy

Joy

Let me introduce you to my assistants – Joy and Gloomy Gus. They hang out with me in my classroom and teach my students how to succeed in life.

Joy has goals and dreamswhile Gus is the monkey on her back. You may already know them.

Gloomy Gus

Gus

Gus does everything in his power to keep Joy in her comfort zone, to prevent her from changing and growing.

Yesterday, I overheard this conversation between them:

Joy: I’m booking  a cruise to Cancun.

Gus: What if you can’t afford it?

Joy: I’m making payments to the cruise line. It will be paid off before I go.

Gus: What if you lose your job?

Joy: Then I’ll have to get another one to pay for the cruise.

Gus: What if your new boss won’t let you take a vacation?

Joy: Then I’ll have to take time off without pay.

Gus: What if they fire you for taking that vacation?

Joy: I didn’t think of that. Maybe I shouldn’t go.

Do you have a Gus in your life who what ifs you until you give up on your dreams?

Are YOU are the monkey on your own back?

Do you overanalyze each new challenge to the point where you end up doing nothing and missing out on the Joy in your life? Is your own subconscious mind what iffing you into your comfort zone?

What if destroys your dreams.

Get the monkey off your back:

  1. Realize that everything in life has risks.
  2. Recognize what if as a subconscious trick to keep you trapped in your comfort zone.
  3. Understand that most of the what ifs never happen and you can handle the ones that do happen.
  4. Keep your dreams away from Gloomy Gus.
  5. Treat what if as a bad word.
About living4bliss

Mental Health Food is the place to stop to get your bliss on everyday. I give tips, hints and sometimes a little silliness to help you navigate the challenges of life. We have a great community of positive bloggers that keep the bliss going all day every day. Make sure to visit their blogs, too. Mental Health Food is a product of Believing Life Is Setup for Success, Inc. (B.L.I.S.S.) in Thornton, CO. We have been in the business of teaching success since 1991. We provide workshops, consulting services and now videos that help people just like you start and maintain successful businesses and personal lives using what you already have. Enjoy a daily dose of Mental Health Food; nourishment for the mind.

One response »

  1. living4bliss says:

    Do you have a monkey on your back?

I'd love to know what you think. Please share a comment with us.

