My Family 2001

Happy Veteran’s Day
 
This is a very special Veteran’s Day since it falls on 11/11/11.
 
Today, I would like to thank my husband and all of the millions of men and women who served and are serving for my freedom.
 
Because you served, I am free to vote any way I choose.
 
Because you served, I am free to blog about anything I want to.
 
Because you served, I am free to run my own business.
 
Because you served, I am free to educate myself and my family.
 
Because you served, I am free to worship in any way I choose.
 
I am so grateful that you served and are serving. Because of you, I am free.
 
Unfortunately, more than 135, 000 veterans are homeless. Men and women who agreed to sacrifice their lives for my freedom, for your freedom now have no safe place to lay their heads.
 
In an effort to honor our veterans, I have would like to ask my facebook friends, Twitter followers and blog subscribers to donate between $1 and $111,111 today to a veteran’s charity today because they served.
 
Be careful when giving because many so-called veteran’s charities are not what they appear to be. A recent article in USA Today stated that some veteran’s charities use up to 90% of their donations for additional fund-raising activities, the money never reaching our veterans.
 
This is a travesty. Our veterans deserve much better.
 
I researched the best veteran’s charities on Charity Navigator :

What can you do because they serve? Post a comment:

About living4bliss

Mental Health Food is the place to stop to get your bliss on everyday. I give tips, hints and sometimes a little silliness to help you navigate the challenges of life. We have a great community of positive bloggers that keep the bliss going all day every day. Make sure to visit their blogs, too. Mental Health Food is a product of Believing Life Is Setup for Success, Inc. (B.L.I.S.S.) in Thornton, CO. We have been in the business of teaching success since 1991. We provide workshops, consulting services and now videos that help people just like you start and maintain successful businesses and personal lives using what you already have. Enjoy a daily dose of Mental Health Food; nourishment for the mind.

2 responses »

  1. rumpydog says:

    Because you served I can sleep without fear of an attack on our country. How many nations can be so confident?

  2. […] Because you served, I can… (living4bliss.wordpress.com) […]

I'd love to know what you think. Please share a comment with us.

