Do you make New Year’s resolutions?

How soon is it before you have broken them?

By Valentine’s Day most of us have returned to our old, miserable selves. Many people have given up the idea of New Year’s resolutions because they seem impossible to keep anyway.

New Year’s resolutions are disempowering because they cause you to focus on fixing what’s wrong with you.  You take an inventory of yourself and decide that you are overweight, drink too much, spend too much money, have a bad temper. You then resolve to transform yourself into a more perfect person by making a promise called a resolution.

Then you quickly break that promise and reinforce your idea that you are flawed. Not only are you overweight, you can’t even fix it. How destructive.

Here’s a much better way to tackle New Year’s resolutions. Although we can all stand some tweaking, for the most part, we are great people.

Why not focus on what makes us great, what we do correctly and resolve to do more of that?

By resolving to continue to increase our good habits, we actually diminish the amount of time and energy we have to spend on those destructive habits. Better yet, we will be able to keep our resolutions throughout the year.

Here are some of my resolutions for next year:

  • I am going to continue to eat healthy in 2012.
  • I am going to continue to share positive messages every chance I get.
  • I am going to continue to seek new knowledge and understanding of the people around me and all over the world.
  • I am going to continue to teach people how to succeed in life.
  • I am going to continue to laugh at least 12 times per day.
  • I am going to continue to expect a great day.
  • I am going to continue to treat myself well.

Related articles

What resolutions will you make this year? I’d love to hear them.

About living4bliss

Mental Health Food is the place to stop to get your bliss on everyday. I give tips, hints and sometimes a little silliness to help you navigate the challenges of life. We have a great community of positive bloggers that keep the bliss going all day every day. Make sure to visit their blogs, too. Mental Health Food is a product of Believing Life Is Setup for Success, Inc. (B.L.I.S.S.) in Thornton, CO. We have been in the business of teaching success since 1991. We provide workshops, consulting services and now videos that help people just like you start and maintain successful businesses and personal lives using what you already have. Enjoy a daily dose of Mental Health Food; nourishment for the mind.

8 responses »

  1. tovah11 says:

    Thank you so much for stopping by my site.

    I am really having a great time reading what you’ve written and I love your piece on resolutions. Years ago, I had given up making New Year’s resolutions, but I didn’t know why.

    Now, I realize they just really make me feel worse when I don’t succeed. This year:I will focus on just trying to live healthier and a little kinder.

    • living4bliss says:

      Keep doing the positive things that you are doing and resolve to do them more. You will keep them, I promise.

      New Year’s resolutions should be outlawed.

      Have a terrific holdiay season and stop back soon.

  2. […] Resolutions You Can Easily Keep (living4bliss.wordpress.com) 0.000000 0.000000 GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "fafcff"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "f0f1f3"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "2a2a2a"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "0a8fbc"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "808080"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "books"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "education"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "health"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "happiness"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "life"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "philosophy"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "values"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "happiness"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "life"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "new-year"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "new-year-resolution"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "people"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "philosophy"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Rate this: Share this:TwitterDiggFacebookRedditPrintStumbleUponEmailLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  3. […] Resolutions You Can Easily Keep (living4bliss.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookRedditTumblrStumbleUponLinkedInDiggPrintEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  4. I appreciate your post, it was interesting and compelling. I discovered my way here through Google, I am going to go back another time 🙂

  5. An engrossing communication is worth note. I guess that you should make many on this topic, it power not be a bias topic but generally people are not enough to utter on much topics.

  6. Fantastic goods from you, man. Ive study your stuff ahead of and youre just as well amazing. I enjoy what youve got right here, adore what youre stating and the way you say it. You make it entertaining and you even now manage to help keep it wise. I cant wait to go through additional from you. That is really an incredible weblog.

I'd love to know what you think. Please share a comment with us.

