Habari gani – kuumba : What’s the news? Creativity.

CreativityTonight is the karamu (feast.)

In addition to lighting the candle of kuumba (creativity) we will gather together in celebration. Each guest will share food from their abundance. By combining our resources, we shall all eat our fill.

We will be called to the table by the ngoma (drum.) We will light the sixth candle (green) and remember our ancestors. Our children will demonstrate their creativity through song and dance. We will drink from the kikombe cha umoja (cup of unity.) We will celebrate creativity.

We will end the year with love and joy.

The principle of kuumba – creativity

It takes more creativity than money to succeed. Through all adversity, creativity has been an underlying theme in African-American survival. It is an American way of life.

Creativity entertains us. Creativity sustains us. Creativity makes us grow. Creativity gives us joy. Creativity solves problems.

Creativity turned table scraps into soul food. Creativity brought us jazz and tap dancing. Creativity invented the rent party. Creativity invented Kwanzaa.

Creativity lights the path.

When adversity rears its ugly head, counter it with creativity. Creativity will always win.

My kuumba resolutions

  • I will continue to look at solutions, not problems.
  • I will continue to be the source of solutions, and expect to overcome adversity with creativity.
  • I will continue to sing and dance and celebrate life.
  • I will continue to use my creative energy to improve my life and the lives of others.
  • I will support the creative endeavors from others in my community, especially those of children.

Harambee, harambee, harambee, harambee, harambee, harambee

About living4bliss

Mental Health Food is the place to stop to get your bliss on everyday. I give tips, hints and sometimes a little silliness to help you navigate the challenges of life. We have a great community of positive bloggers that keep the bliss going all day every day. Make sure to visit their blogs, too. Mental Health Food is a product of Believing Life Is Setup for Success, Inc. (B.L.I.S.S.) in Thornton, CO. We have been in the business of teaching success since 1991. We provide workshops, consulting services and now videos that help people just like you start and maintain successful businesses and personal lives using what you already have. Enjoy a daily dose of Mental Health Food; nourishment for the mind.

8 responses »

  1. […] Kuumba – Creativity (living4bliss.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Kuumba – Creativity (living4bliss.wordpress.com) […]

  3. HAPPY NEW YEAR, Saundra!! I agree with the kuumba resolutions!!

  4. […] Kuumba – Creativity (living4bliss.wordpress.com) […]

  5. After examine a couple of of the weblog posts in your website now, and I actually like your manner of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website listing and will likely be checking back soon. Pls take a look at my site as well and let me know what you think.

  6. Just bookmarked you under Digg under “Kuumba – Creativity Mental Health Food”. So hopefully our friends can give you a visit. Thanks.

  7. incredible reading for any one who enjoys this type of stuff. I know that I certainly do.

I'd love to know what you think. Please share a comment with us.

