My first house was built in the late 1890s and generations of previous owners left their belongings in the attic. It was just a bunch of junk according to the previous owner. I could throw it away or give it away, it didn’t matter to him.

To my surprise, sitting in the corner of the attic was a dusty, old Singer Sewing Machine, the kind with the treadle. One man’s junk is another man’s treasure.

My husband couldn’t understand what I could possibly want with that dusty old thing or why I thought I belonged in our dining room.

I am admittedly domestically challenged. I got Ds in Home Economics (who measures when they cook? Why sew when you can go to Walmart?)

I couldn’t thread a needle if my life depended on it (if a button falls off, the outfit is trash as far as I’m concerned.)

But, now all of a sudden I wanted a sewing machine in my dining room?

He actually offered to buy me a “real” sewing machine that ran on electricity if I wanted to try sewing. He was tired of paying to have stripes sewn on his military uniform.

He just couldn’t understand why I wanted that old-fashioned dusty one instead of a new shiny electric one.

Eventually he understood. All it took was a little Lemon Pledge. The dust came right off and the machine soon became one of our prized possessions. The scratches add character (and value, I’m told.)

My husband wouldn’t consider getting rid of it now. Three houses later, it is still in my dining room.

No, I don’t USE it; I like to LOOK at it.

What do you REALLY see when you look in the mirror?

Do you see a worthless old-fashioned, dusty, scratched machine or a valuable antique that just needs a little Lemon Pledge?

We are all on a quest for self-improvement. But self-improvement can be self-destructive if we are not careful with our self-talk.

It is far too easy to fall into the negative self-talk trap as we self-improve. You know, “you will be a better person after you drop all that weight, finish your degree, get a job…” or whatever your improvement project du jour happens to be.

When you catch yourself destroying yourself, stop and immediately affirm yourself. Otherwise you may wind up storing your natural beauty in the corner of your attic and denying yourself to the world. Affirmation is the Lemon Pledge of life.

Healthy eating, exercise, education, reading and travelling are all excellent ways to create personal growth, but in so-doing, we must remember not to ignore our present self-worth. You are valuable NOW.

Self-improvement is merely a way to remove the top layer of dust.

Dusting and polishing did not increase the value of my sewing machine. It was valuable all along. So are you, dust and all.

You are already that beautiful antique sewing machine. All of the self-improvement that you are doing is merely bringing out your natural shine.

Self-improve until you glow but don’t hide in the corner of the attic while you do. Put yourself on display for the world to see.

You are beautiful as-is, even if you need a little dusting every now and then.

Related Articles:

About living4bliss

Mental Health Food is the place to stop to get your bliss on everyday. I give tips, hints and sometimes a little silliness to help you navigate the challenges of life. We have a great community of positive bloggers that keep the bliss going all day every day. Make sure to visit their blogs, too. Mental Health Food is a product of Believing Life Is Setup for Success, Inc. (B.L.I.S.S.) in Thornton, CO. We have been in the business of teaching success since 1991. We provide workshops, consulting services and now videos that help people just like you start and maintain successful businesses and personal lives using what you already have. Enjoy a daily dose of Mental Health Food; nourishment for the mind.

19 responses »

  1. Love this post, Saundra!! Had me cracking up AND saying “Amen.” You’re good!!

  2. tbmlister says:

    There was a nice (if a little crude) analogy I read in one of Paul McKenna’s books. He says that at our core, we’re all beautiful, glimmering diamonds. But as we grow up we grow insecure and surround ourselves with all this bullshit to try and fit in. And then, when we want to improve, we try and paint nail varnish over the bullshit to make it look pretty, when all we really need to do is chip away until we find our core.

    Still, I’d like some therapeutic lemon pledge, please!

    • living4bliss says:

      Lemon Pledge:

      Realize that like McKenna said we are all so valuable. Not everyone can see the value but as long as you can, the rest of the world doesn’t really matter.

  3. Love it! Thanks for including me! You are awesome!

  4. Society would benefit as a whole if more people would notice the beauty of “relics”, items as well as people.

    • living4bliss says:

      I see people tearing themselves apart (especially in the weight-loss area) without realizing how valuable they are now. There is nothing wrong with self-improvement as long as we know that is is just shining up what we already have.

  5. cruz2lose says:

    I bathed in Lemon Pledge this morning….still look old and tired but I sure do smell good!
    : )

  6. goodluckcharmsthatwork says:

    I am nominating YOU for The Versatile Blogger Award because…I am nominating YOU for The Versatile Blogger Award because…you deserve it!

  7. Aurora, HSP says:

    Thanks kindly for the timely reminder. So are YOU 🙂 🙂 🙂

  8. irenelefort says:

    It reminds me of a sewing machine my mom used to have. It is beautiful.

  9. pranjalbor says:

    Don’t have words which can express exactly.. I just want to congratulate and wish you all the best…. You are Awesome.

  10. pranjalbor says:

    Don’t have words which can express exactly…. i can only say. “You are Awesome”. My all the best wishes to you madam..

I'd love to know what you think. Please share a comment with us.

